Visiting Pop-Pop

Posted: December 7, 2012 in baby, custody, family, holiday, parenting
Tags: , , ,

The Sunday after Thanksgiving, I took b to visit his grandfather, (step)grandmother, and uncle-“that man’s” family, although he barely communicates them. “That man” has daddy issues because he feels that his dad wasn’t there for him when he was growing up. He even asked me not to let his father’s family see b. I basically told him that I’m not going to deny b access to his grandparents & uncle.

They hadn’t seen b since Christmas, although I let them know they were welcome to visit whenever. His grandfather had a stroke during the summer and has been recovering. I thought this would be a good time to visit. I feel that b needs to get to know everyone I his family, not just those that “that man” deems worthy. They are the only ones on “that man’s” side that gave me their contact information. But I digress…

We had a great visit. Although b’s grandfather is still recovering from the stroke & cannot speak, it was obvious that he was happy to see b! We stayed for a couple of hours; b played and ran all around. I am definitely going to make sure that b visits on a regular basis. There’s just something about babies that brings joy to any situation!

While we were visiting, I couldn’t help but to think about “that man”. He hasn’t been to visit his father, not even once! He even had the nerve to call him his “sperm donor” right after he had the stroke! It’s really a shame. Life is way too short to hold grudges, especially when someone is ill. Even if he doesn’t want to see his father, what about his little brother??? He’s only 10! But then again, he claims that he isn’t his brother, just his father’s son. That just goes to show how much a douche bag this dude is. Smh!

Leave a comment